Chicken Parmesan

I have been on vacation with my family so I have not had a chance to post lately but I am back now.

I have decided I would post one of my favorite Italian dish’s for you.

My Favorite Italian meal

My Favorite Italian meal

Chicken Parmesan By David Green

For the chicken you will need the following:

500 grams of Chicken breast boneless skin less
1/2 cup of flour
Salt and Pepper to taste
1 tsp Garlic powder
1/2 cup Bread crumbs
1 tbsp Basil
2 tsp Oregano
1/4 cup Parmesan cheese
1 Egg
1/4 cup Milk
1 ball of fresh Mozzarella Or other cheese (Pictured a danish cheese)

Ingredients for chicken Parm

Ingredients for chicken Parm

For the Sauce you will need

3 cloves Garlic fine diced
1 Onion fine diced
1 Bell Pepper any color fine diced
5 Mushrooms chopped
400 grams chopped Tomatoes
1 small can of Tomato Puree

You will also need enough pasta for 4 side orders of pasta ( I use enough pasta to fit into my hand in a c shape)

C shape for measuring pasta

C shape for measuring pasta

To begin you will need to prep the chicken. I usually cut off the tenders before I pound out the chicken. This gives me a small portion for my fussy boys (sometimes they eat meat sometimes they don’t). I find it easier to pound out the chicken without the tenders.

Breast and tender

Breast and tender

Once you have done that it is time to take some of your aggresion out on the chicken breast. You want to pound then out so they are fairly even and flat, this will help them cook evenly.

flattened breast and tender

flattened breast and tender

Be careful not to pound them to hard or you will have mushy chicken and they will fall apart.

Once you have prepared the chicken you should mix together the flour, salt, pepper, and garlic. Coat the chicken with the flour mixture and set aside.
Add the bread crumbs a little more salt pepper and garlic powder, you will also add the Parmesan cheese, basil, and oregano to the remaining flour mixture and mix well.
The next step is to create an egg wash with the egg, milk and a pinch of salt and pepper.

Now take your floured chicken and dip it into the egg wash and then the bread crumb mixture, Repeat until all the chicken is coated then place into the fridge to await the cooking process.

Chicken Parm

Chicken Parm

Dispose of any extra bread crumbs and egg wash.

Now it is time to make the sauce. I would like to mention that the sauce should not be the star of the show it is just an accompaniment, hence the fine dice on the vegetables. If I were making marinara I would make it much chunkier and add additional spices to make it sing.

Vegetables for Sauce

Vegetables for Sauce

First you will cut up the vegetables and swet them in a sauce pan for a few minutes. Then you add the tomatoes and the puree, you will also want to add twice the amount of water as you did puree. Cover sauce pot and put it on the back burner to simmer until the chicken is done cooking. Do not forget to stir the sauce occasionally while it cooks.

Sauce

Sauce

Now you want to cook the chicken fillets so you will need a large saute pan with some fat in it(I use a mixture of margarine and olive oil). Preheat your pan on a medium heat (Not to hot or you will burn the cutlets) do not over crowd the cutlets. You want them to be golden brown on each side

Chicken cutlets

Chicken cutlets

Set the finished cutlets aside and cook the remaining cutlets.

You should cook your pasta sometime around now so it is done when you finish the chicken.

Now comes the magic, Line the cutlets up on a sheet pan and put a light coating of sauce on top of the cutlets and then cover the sauce with cheese. Place in a 200 degree Celsius oven for 5 minutes to heat through and melt the cheese.

Chicken Parmesan

Chicken Parmesan

Put the chicken on the plate a pile of pasta and cover it in sauce and you are ready for a feast ENJOY

(Just a side not I am back in school next week, I will try and post weekly if I can)

My next 2 recipes will be Spice replacements with no pictures.

So keep your eyes open for my mouth watering Taco seasoning

Let me know what you Enjoyed.

