Chili Con Carne

I love Chili and there are so many different ways to cook it that even I have 3 or 4 different recipes for it.

By far my favorite recipe for Chili has to be Chili Con Carne. I have spent a few years now trying many different recipes for Chili Con Carne and have adjusted my spices up and down until I came up with (For My Taste) what I believe is the best Chili Con Carne I have ever tasted.

When you bake a recipe is a formula, unless you have a firm grasp at food science their is very little you can change that will not effect the ultimate end product. When you cook a good recipe should be a guideline, It should guide you in the direction you want to go, but it should never bind you on the way you get there.

I say this because the recipes I write are to my taste and that of my family’s, You should always adjust the seasoning to your flavor preference if that means more salt than add it, if that means more chili than by all means add that as well.

I know I know stop talking and get on with the recipe.

Chili Con Carne By David Green

A good Chili Starts with the freshest Ingredients

A good Chili Starts with the freshest Ingredients

2 sticks celery
1 large chopped red onion
1 chopped red bell pepper
8 ounces ground beef or 1 kilo rump steak chopped(better)
5 garlic cloves, minced
1 1/2 tablespoons chili powder
2 teaspoons ground cumin
1 teaspoon sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
1 can red kidney beans, drained
400 grams diced tomatoes, undrained
400 grams beef broth
1 bottle beer (I prefer a dark beer)
2 tsp corn meal
1 Fresh squeezed lime

The first step in this process is to chop your vegetables, In Chili I like my vegi’s to be nice and chunky.

Chunky cut Vegetables (See if you can find the change I made in the pictures)

Chunky cut Vegetables
(See if you can find the change I made in the pictures)

Once you have prepped your Vegetables them and the meat to a large Dutch oven over medium-high heat and cook them for about 5 minutes or until the meat is browned and all the vegetables are sweated off well.

Chili vegi's and meat when ready

Chili vegi’s and meat when ready

Stir in chili powder, cumin, sugar, and salt then cook for 1 minute. Next add the oregano, kidney beans, diced tomatoes (Fresh are better still 400 gr), beef broth, and the dark beer to the pan and bring it to a boil.

This is what it should look like when everything is combined. Dont worry if it is wet, it will cook for a long time and will thicken with the addition of the corn meal.

This is what it should look like when everything is combined. Dont worry if it is wet, it will cook for a long time and will thicken with the addition of the corn meal.

Reduce the heat and cook with a lid on it for an additional 1 1/2 hours ( Never said it was a quick meal).
This is the point when you want to add the Cornmeal, sprinkle it 1 tsp at a time over the top then stir it in and add the second. Now you add the fresh lime and allow it to cook for an additional 30 minutes uncovered. And at last it is ready to eat

Finished Chili Con Carne

Finished Chili Con Carne

I like to serve it over pasta with a little bit of cheese, of course the traditional way of eating it is straight in a bowl either way it will be good and definitely warm you up. Enjoy

Let me know what you Enjoyed.

