Cajun Seasoning

Cajun Seasoning

The other day I was looking over my groups on Facebook and I came across another American living in Denmark and he was looking for Cajun Seasoning in the shops. I have been there and know from first hand experience you will not find it here in Denmark.

I told him that he should make his own and provided a recipe for it. I am always surprised when my substitute recipes are so popular” I don’t know why” If I am looking for it chances are other Americans are looking for it also.

Well on with the recipe:

Cajun Seasoning By David Green

2 teaspoons dried oregano leaves
1 teaspoon dried thyme leaves
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon paprika
1/2 teaspoon dry mustard
1/4 teaspoon dried cumin
1/4 teaspoon ground allspice
1/2 teaspoon ground red pepper
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 onion powders

You need dried spices for this, you can mix this in a food processor but I find it is always best to use a mortar and pestal when doing spice blends it helps the flavors combine better.

This blend is very personalized and you should adjust it accordingly to your taste, add more red pepper for a spicier blend or add a bit of brown sugar for a blackening seasoning, as with any recipe when cooking you are steering the ship, you pick the destination and ENJOY

Let me know what you Enjoyed.

