Carrot Cake Just Enough

My 2 boys do love sweets, but around my house we only have sweets on the weekend because my boys do not need anything extra to give them energy.

Because I only bake sweets on the weekend it usually has to be something small that will get eaten up before Monday. I have some many cake recipes and being the good American I am, I do love cake. Unfortunately the dense sweet cakes we Americans are used to eating are not very popular in my family. When I bake large cakes they usually don’t get completely eaten and get thrown away on Sunday. I usually end up cutting my recipes in half and using my small cake pan.

I do love to bake and every now and then I bake something that I want  and not what my boys want. This is one of those times, I love carrot cake it is one of those things that I just can’t resist especially when it has a sweet cream cheese frosting on it. So this is my rendition of carrot cake made small Just enough.

Carrot Cake By David Green

2 eggs
3/4 cup veg oil
1 cup sugar
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1,1/2 Cup Carrot (organic is best)
1/2 cup chopped pecans (optional),   1/2 cup raisins (optional)

DIRECTIONS
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour a your cake pan.
In a large bowl, beat together eggs, oil, white sugar and the vanilla. Mix in the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cinnamon. Fold in the carrots, pecans, and raisins. Pour into the prepared pan.

Carrot Cake before baking
Carrot Cake before baking

Bake for 40 to 50 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean. Let the cake cool in pan for 10 minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack and cool completely.

Cool on a wire rack
Cool on a wire rack

While the cake is cooling you can start to make the Cream cheese frosting. This is not a half batch recipe of frosting I usually like to have a little left over in case I need some for another preparation.

cream cheese frosting

1/2 cup butter, softened
8 ounces cream cheese, softened
4 cups confectioners’ sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Cream Cheese Frosting
Cream Cheese Frosting

In a medium bowl, combine the butter, cream cheese, confectioners’ sugar and 1 teaspoon vanilla. Beat until the mixture is smooth and creamy. When the cake has cooled enough to handle it you should slice it in half if you want 2 layers.

Carrot Cake sliced in half
Carrot Cake sliced in half

When completely cooled you should frost first layer of the cake, then place the second layer on top and frost the top and sides. Optionally you can Sprinkle with a half cup of chopped pecans.

Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting
Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

If you have leftover frosting you can just put it in a freezer bag and stick it in the freezer until you are ready to use it later. Be sure to save at least a 150 grams of the frosting and I will show you how to rework it into another very yummy frosting.

I have given you this recipe the way I like my carrot cake with pecans and raisins my family does not like it that way so I usually don’t make it that way. I did this so I could show the flexibility of this cake. As long as you do not change the base recipe you can customize it anyway you like so be adventurous and give it a try and as always Enjoy

2 thoughts on “Carrot Cake Just Enough

Let me know what you Enjoyed.

