Meatloaf Yum Yum Love it or Leave it

Today I am going to share what to me is one of the ultimate comfort foods Meatloaf. In Denmark it is called Fårsbrød, In South africa it is called Bobotie made with fruit and nuts, and in the Philippines it is called Embutido and made with a boiled egg inside of it.

When I was in America I would simply take ground beef, bread crumbs, an egg, and Lipton french onion soup combine them together and cover it in BBQ sauce and presto I had a wonderful Meatloaf. I do not have the luxury of Lipton french onion soup in Denmark, also these days I like to know everything that is going into my food (I hate preservatives) so I do it from scratch.

Meatloaf

By David Green

500 grams Ground beef
1/2 cup Bread Crumbs
1 egg
1 tablespoon oregano
2 tbsp Soy Sauce
1 small onions diced

Glaze
2 tbls ketchup
2 tsp mustard
1 tbls brown sugar
1/4 tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp Oregano
1 tsp Worcestershire sauce

In a bowl combine the first six ingredients and mix well. Mix together the glaze.

Put the meat loaf in a small casserole dish and cover the top with the glaze and leave in the fridge for 15 minutes.  At this point I turn on the oven set it for 200 degrees.  Place the Meatloaf in the oven and bake for 45 minutes.

And that is all there is to it. A very simple meal that will remind you of simpler times. Everyone likes their meatloaf in different ways some like celery in it, and some like peppers in it. This is my base recipe and it is tasty, add what you like to it,  experiment with it and make it your own. Enjoy

I had some really great photos of me making Meatloaf but they have somehow disappeared from my computer so I  downloaded this amazing shot off the internet as a cover photo.

I had some really great photos of me making Meatloaf but they have somehow disappeared from my computer so I downloaded this amazing shot off the internet as a cover photo.

Let me know what you Enjoyed.

