Chocolate Coffee Cake with Chocolate Buttercream and a Raspberry Glaze yummy and easy to make

My second child is about to start kindergarten and I am so proud of him. The school that he will be attending decided to have a sleepover for all the kids that start school next month, I decided to bake a cake for them.

My oldest son is a total Chocoholic so the only choice to make is my Chocolate coffee cake with chocolate buttercream and a raspberry glaze. It is simply divine and one of the best chocolate cakes I have ever had i my life.

Chocolate coffee cake with chocolate buttercream and a raspberry glaze By David Green

2 cups flour
3/4 c cocoa
1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup milk
1 tsp. vanilla
2 cup sugar
1/2 cup oil
1 cup hot coffee
2 eggs

Glaze
1 Cup Raspberry jam
Chocolate butter cream

132 grams butter
95 grams dark Chocolate bar
650g icing sugar
150ml milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

How to make it

First add the flour cocoa baking soda baking powder and salt then combine. Add the rest of the ingredients and blend for 2 minutes or until mixed together (Scrape the sides off the bowl to ensure everything is mixed in) This batter will be very thin.

Batter will be very thin. This is the way you want it

Batter will be very thin. This is the way you want it

Pour in greased Cake pan.

I use a large springform because of my gas oven it cooks better.

I use a large springform because of my gas oven it cooks better.

I use a large springform pan and it takes about an hour to cook. If you use 2, 9 in cake pans and split the batter in 2 you will need to bake it for 30 minutes @ 350f 180 c.

Do not overbake. Test before removing you want to pull it out when it is just done. AGAIN I SAY DO NOT OVER BAKE!!! OR IT WILL be dry

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I trim the bulge off and save it for other uses. This makes for a nicer looking cake when you go to frost it

I trim the bulge off and save it for other uses. This makes for a nicer looking cake when you go to frost it

 

 

 

 

 

Split the layers of cooled cake horizontally and pour the melted raspberry jam over both layers layer.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For the Buttercream
add 50 ml of milk to the chocolate bar and melt on stovetop or microwave.
Cream butter until light and fluffy.
Add the icing sugar alternately with the milk vanilla and the warm chocolate.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Beat to a spreading consistency. At this point it is a good idea to slightly chill the butter cream before using it makes it easier to spread.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Cover the top of each layer with icing, then stack them onto a serving plate.
Now ice the outside of the cake.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If You are wondering what the cake is sitting on? I knew that the cake was going to another location so I did not want to worry about getting my cake plate back. I took a cardboard box and trimmed it into a circle and covered it with aluminum foil, instant cake plate.

So I know I am always saying Customize and make it your own. In this case I say you have to try it as it is there is nothing like Raspberry and chocolate. Get out your baking pans and prepare for a mouth watering delight and Enjoy

 

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Coffee Cake with Chocolate Buttercream and a Raspberry Glaze yummy and easy to make

    • Thank you I try for original content. My site is WordPress.com hosted for now, the only advantage to that is the seamless load. I hope when I change host’s it will stay the same. WordPress.com is very limited to the changes you can make I have taken it as far as I can.

      Like

Let me know what you Enjoyed.

