BBQ Spareribs Summer is coming are you ready?

This weekend I was looking over my blog post and I realized that lately all I have been posting is baking recipes. This has not been intentional and to tell the truth it is born out of laziness.

I am a chef and do not have as many written recipes for food as I do for baking, because of this it is just easier to put up baking recipes. All I have to do is take pictures while I bake and poof, I am done with my blog post. In order to post food recipes I actually have to do a bit of writing while I am cooking.

I will continue to post baking recipes, mostly because I love to bake but I will make more of an effort to post other types of recipes as well.

Saturday was my youngest sons birthday, he turned 3 years old. When I was a kid it was a tradition in my family that on your Birthday my mother would always make your favorite meal. I try to keep that tradition alive and well but with my youngest son I have no idea of what his favorite meal is yet, I chose to do BBQ ribs(He likes them), Corn on the cob, and rice, 3 things he really enjoys.

BBQ Spare ribs By David Green
1 kg spare ribs
1 small onion fine diced
3 cloves garlic chopped
1/2 tsp fresh ground pepper
1/2 tsp sea salt
1 cup apple juice
3 cups water

Combine all the ingredients in a large stock pot cover and bring to a boil and then allow to simmer for 30 minutes.

Remove ribs from stock and reduce.

Remove ribs from stock and reduce.

Remove the ribs and reduce the stock by 2/3 you will use this as a base for your BBQ Sauce. Allow the ribs to cool, then store them in the fridge until your sauce is ready. I usually start the reduction in the pot I cooked the ribs in and then when it has reduced enough I transfer it to a smaller sauce pot to finish.

After the stock has reduced add

1/2 Cup Ketchup
1/8 cup Spicy Mustard
2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
1 tbsp oregano
2 tbsp brown sugar
2 dash’s tabasco ( More if you like your sauce spicier)

Return to a simmer and continue to reduce in half or until thick. You need to stir the sauce from time to time. be careful not to reduce it too much, remember it has sugar and gelatin from the meat in it (Note if you make in advance it is a good idea to warm the sauce first before you use it).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Ideally you will want to cook these on the grill, but alas the weather is cold so I will bake them.

Preheat the oven to 200C.  Place the ribs in the oven and cook for 15 minutes before you add the sauce turning once.

Cook 15 minutes before adding sauce.

Cook 15 minutes before adding sauce.

Now comes the magic Add the sauce to one top of the ribs and allow to cook for about 7 minutes, Turn over the ribs and cover the other side with bbq sauce and cook an additional 5 minutes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Well that is my version of BBQ Spareribs. You ask why do I boil them first? This is because of 2 reasons, First it makes them more tender and second it makes for a tastier sauce.

I have another version of this, I do not use apple juice but instead I use Dr Pepper but I do not make that often because here in Denmark Dr Pepper is hard to find and very expensive. The point I am making is that this to may be customized. When you are cooking you are the artist be creative and try new things and Enjoy.

2 thoughts on “BBQ Spareribs Summer is coming are you ready?

Let me know what you Enjoyed.

