Strawberry Shortcake Birthday Cake Sweet Fresh and Yummy

For my sons 3rd birthday it was hard to decide what to bake for him because he does not really like cake. He is more of a cookie man, but one thing he really likes is strawberries, one of his favorite fruits.

I actually don’t think this cake turn out as nice as some of my others do. I think that it was a little dry, but the concept of the cake is spot on and when I make it again I will do a few things different. I will walk you through those things while I am describing the recipe.

Strawberry Shortcake Birthday Cake: An Original By David Green

1 2/3 cups all-purpose sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
¼ teaspoon baking soda
2 tsp sugar
3 tablespoons butter
1 beaten egg
½ buttermilk
1 tsp vanilla

Strawberry Glaze

1 cup of strawberry
1/4 cup sugar
1 cup of water

strawberries ( As much or as little as you like for the layers)

2 cups buttercream

Fondant

The first thing you will need to do is make the strawberry syrup this is one of those steps I will change the next time I make this cake. When I made the cake I made the shortcake first and the syrup afterwards. I then poured the syrup onto a completely cooled cake. The syrup just layed on the top of the cake and did not soak into it at all. To avoid this it is best to pour cold syrup on a hot cake.

Bring strawberry mix to a boil and boil for 5 minutes YOU ARE NOT MAKING JELLY JUST SYRUP. Once the syrup is done boiling you will want to put it into a food processor and liquify all the strawberries.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In a medium bowl stir together flour, the 2 tablespoon sugar, the baking powder, and baking soda. Using your fingers, cut in butter until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Add egg and buttermilk and vanilla to flour mixture all at once. Stir until just until moistened. This will be very thick like Biscuit dough.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Spread it on the bottom of a butter and floured small cake pan. Bake in a 450f 270c oven for 7 to 8 minutes or until golden. Transfer the shortcake to a wire rack and let cool completely.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Slice the cake in half verticlely the top will now become the bottom to make it pretty.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cover both layers in syrup and allow to cool.  This is the other part that was not so successful for the cake that I made (When I make this again I will pipe on the butter cream so it is a thicker layer). Spread on a light coat of buttercream heavier if you like a really sweet cake I have done it light to let the strawberries shine. After you put on the butter cream you should layer it with strawberries.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now do the same for the top layer and then place it on top of the bottom.

Now come the fun part. First you will need to color and roll out your fondant. Once you have rolled it thin enough you can start applying it to the cake. I wanted contrasting colors on the top and sides so I used a separate piece of fondant on the top and a separate piece on the sides. The more traditional way of doing this is to use just one piece of fondant and lay it over the entire cake.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Once you have covered the cake you can use any leftover fondant to decorate with. You can get pretty creative with this and it can be a lot of fun.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Again Like I said be creative and have fun with it. While this was not my greatest bakey cakey creation with the suggestions I have made to improve one it I know if you try it it will be divine. Enjoy

 

Let me know what you Enjoyed.

