Peach Cobbler An Early Taste of Summer

Last week I was in the grocery store and to my surprise they had some really nice ripe peaches. I am sure they probably came from Spain or worse of somewhere half way across the world, but they were to good to pass up. One of my all time favorite summer treats is Peach Cobbler and it is so easy to make.

Peach Cobbler

4 Peaches, sliced
1 3/4 cups sugar divided
1/2 cup water
8 tablespoons butter 113 grams
[ 1 1/2 cups flour ]
[ 2 1/4 tsp baking powder ] Or 1 1/2 cup self rising flour
[ 1/4+1/8 tsp salt ]
1 1/2 cups milk
Ground cinnamon,

Directions

Preheat oven to 350F 180C.

The first thing you need to do is peal and slice the Peaches, when I am making cobbler I am very inconsistent in my slicing technique.  I like too cut the peaches in small and large bits so every now and then you come across a big chunk in the mix.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Combine the peaches, 3/4 cup sugar, and the water in a saucepan and mix well. Bring to a boil and simmer for 10 minutes ( Do not over cook or the peaches will turn to mush). Remove from the heat and set aside.

Put the butter in a 3-quart baking dish and place in oven to melt.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Mix remaining 1 cup sugar,the self rising flour, and milk slowly to prevent clumping, here in Denmark you can not find self rising flour so I make my own, I have provide instructions in the ingredients list . Pour the mixture over the melted butter, do not stir.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Spoon the fruit on top and gently pour in the syrup. Sprinkle the top with ground cinnamon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This batter will rise a lot during baking so make sure your casserole is large enough or you will have a huge mess on your hands. Bake for 30 to 45 minutes.

Peach Cobbler

This dish is meant to be served warm and it becomes even more sinful with a scope of melting vanilla ice cream on top, but is equally as nice with cream fraiche or whipped cream. I hope you Enjoy I know my family did.

One thought on “Peach Cobbler An Early Taste of Summer

Let me know what you Enjoyed.

