Blueberries Galore whats a boy to do ?

Why get in the kitchen and get busy of course. It has been so hot lately and so rainy that our garden is exploding with fruit. I went to the blueberry bushes thinking I would like pancakes in the morning and started picking, by the time I was done I had enough blueberries to feed a small army.

That was 2 days ago, again like I said it has been so hot lately that I have not felt like getting into the kitchen and baking but today the wind was blowing just right so I open the front and back door of my house and all the windows and got busy. I had previously posted a recipe on Blueberry Muffins so I had to think out of the box as to what I was going to do to use up all the blueberries I had, this is what I came up with.

Lemon Blueberry Cake with Blueberry Cream Cheese Frosting

This recipe includes my recipe for blueberry syrup. Without further adieu I will get on with it.

Blueberry Syrup
1 cup sugar
1 cups water
125 grams blueberries

Blueberry Cake Ingredients:

113 grams butter unsalted
1 cups granulated sugar
2 whole eggs
2 teaspoon lemon juice
1.5 cups sifted cake flour
1/2 tablespoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup buttermilk
125 grams blueberries

.5 tsp vanilla
Cream Cheese Frosting

120 grams cream cheese, softened
56 grams unsalted butter
3 tsp blueberry syrup
2 cups powdered sugar

First you will want to prepare the blueberry syrup for the frosting you will want it to be as cool as possible before adding to the frosting. Add all the ingredients in a small sauce pot and reduce in half. You can either strain it or leave in the pulp it is up to you, I like a smooth frosting so I will strain it. transfer to a bowl or a jar with a lid do not cover until it cools down ( You will have a lot of syrup when you are done, goes great on pancakes.) let rest until it is cool.

20140709_105343

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and grease and flour a  9 inch round cake pans( I use a 20cm spring form pan).  using your mixer with the paddle attachment, beat together the butter and sugar until fluffy and light.

20140709_111025

Beat in eggs one at a time, scraping down the sides of the bowl after each egg then add the lemon juice, mix until just combined.  In another bowl combine the cake flour, baking powder and salt.  Now you will want to add the flour mixture and the buttermilk to the wet mixture 1/3 at a time mixing thoroughly between additions until just mixed. Gently fold the blueberries into the cake batter. Pour cake batter evenly into prepared pan.

20140709_112525

 

Bake for 35 to 40 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Remove the cake from the oven and allow to cool  in the pan. When cool to the touch use a knife around the edges to loosen the cake and turn over onto a cooling rack. Cool completely.

20140709_120345

While cake is cooling prepare the frosting by creaming together cream cheese and butter. Once smooth beat in the blueberry syrup. Finally beat in the powdered sugar one cup at a time. Frosting should be stiff but spreadable ( you may need more or less powdered sugar depending on the humidity).

20140709_115502

Once cake has cooled completely slice it into 2 layers.  Place one layer of the cake on your serving plate and spread 1/3 of the frosting over the top. Place the other layer on top of the frosting. Use the remaining frosting to frost the cake. If you like a fancier cake and have enough blueberries left over you can go crazy with decorating the top ( I froze my blueberries before I used them so not good for decoration). When you are done place in the refrigerator for storage, remove about  30 minutes to an hour before serving.

20140709_140902

Well that is my take on a Blueberry cake. I forgot to mention you do not have to use just blueberries you can use other berries as well make it your own and Enjoy!

My apologies for the low quality photos ( I broke my phone)  but the cake will taste great

 

 

Let me know what you Enjoyed.

