Banana Bread With Apple and Walnut Struesel, A Great Way To Use That Over Abundant Fruit

You will have to excuse me for posting another very similar posting a month ago.  I just have so much darn fruit and I wanted to demonstrate different ways of utilizing excess fruit in your pantry. As fall is rapidly setting in here in Denmark, I must think of new and exciting ways to use up the very delicious apples I have on my tree now.

I will be posting 2 other exciting and simple apple recipes in the coming days. I know you are saying what does Banana bread have to do with apples, “It is in the struesel baby”,

Next up in my line up of fruits is the wonderful grapes I have growing on my balcony. It will be interesting coming up with new and exciting things to do with them so stay tuned.

Well Enough talk I will get on with the recipe:

 

Banana Bread With Apple and Walnut Struesel
By David Green

¾ cup sugar
2 eggs
1 cup bananas, mashed
1 ¾ cup flour unsifted
2 tsp baking powder
½ tsp baking soda
½ tsp salt
½ cup shortening, or 113 grams margarine
I have taken the Raisin out of this recipe as I believe that it would be just a little to much but if you would like to add raisins feel free (½ cup of raisins)

Apple and toasted walnut struesel
50 grams walnuts toasted
½ cup oats
1/4 cup brown sugar
¼ cup butter
2 tbs flour
2 small or 1 medium apple

Preheat oven to 350 degrees f 180 C. Grease 9×5-inch loaf pan. Mix dry ingredients thoroughly. Mix sugar, fat and eggs until light

. 20140904_184822

Blend in mashed bananas.

20140904_183827

Add dry ingredients and stir just until smooth. Pour into greased pan.

20140904_190013

Prepare the streusel by combining the first 5 ingredients and mix well.

20140904_183834

Now chop the apple fine ( Don’t chop the apples to soon or they will go brown) and mix till combined. Cover the top of the cake evenly.

20140904_191845

Bake until firmly set, when lightly touched in the center, 50 to 60 minutes. Cool on rack and remove from the pan in 10 minutes. One loaf, 5×9-inches makes 18 1/2inch slices.

 

20140904_203530

And that is ll there is to it Simple and delicious. Enjoy

Let me know what you Enjoyed.

