Home-style Biscuits, Perfect For Stews As Well As Breakfast

It has been sometime since I have made a post of my own on Food-Enjoy and i am sorry for that. I am currently finishing my last semester in school before I start my internship. I have been very busy searching for an internship and preparing for my exams.

I almost feel bad for posting such a simple recipe but I love Biscuits. I like them best with eggs cheese and country sausage on them but they are also great with jam or simply butter.

Homestyle Biscuits

INGREDIENTS

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon coarse salt
8 tablespoons butter
3/4 cup milk

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees. Butter or line a baking sheet.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, and salt. Using your hands combine the butter and flour mixture until it resembles a coarse meal (Similar to what you would do making pie dough).

20140922_154717

Slowly add the milk, stirring with a fork, until you have the desired consistency. Next you should turn the dough out onto a clean, lightly floured surface and gently knead just until  the dough comes together. Carefully roll out the dough until you have the thickness you desire, I usually roll them out to about 3/4 in, to an inch thick depending on what I am going to use them for.

20140922_155217

Using a biscuit cutter or a glass, cut about 12 biscuits (This number will vary depending on the size of your cutter and how big you want then).  Any scraps you have left over should be combined together, re-rolled, and allowed to set for about 15 minutes so the gluten in the flour has time to rest. Place on the lined baking sheet.

20140922_160115

At this point it is worth noting that these biscuits freeze really well. If you wish to freeze them I would put little pieces of wax paper between each biscuit, I do this so I can take them out as i need them.  Bake the biscuits for approximately 13 to 15 minutes (If frozen you will need to add 2 to 4 minutes), When they are golden brown they are done. You can serve these Pipping hot right out of the oven or cool slightly before serving, either way they are best served warm. I hope you Enjoy

20140922_164836

Let me know what you Enjoyed.

