Baked Creamy Tarragon Chicken and Mushrooms, Simple and Delicious

It has been a long time since I last posted a savory dish on my blog. The funny thing about this is that i was never a pastry chef, it was not until after I left the restaurants that I started baking more. I don’t have a very steady hand so I was never good at the decoration portion of desserts, but I really enjoy baking.

This recipe is one that we enjoy around my house very much. We usually make it when there is not a lot of time for anything else.

Baked creamy Tarragon chicken and mushrooms By David Green

serves 6

1.4 KG chicken legs and thighs
salt and pepper and garlic powder to taste
50 grams butter or margarine
3 cloves garlic
1 small onion
200 grams mushrooms sliced thick
2 tbsp flour
1 chicken stock cube
1 cup water( white wine is better )
1.5 cups heavy cream
2 tbsp Tarragon

 
Preheat oven to 200c

The first thing you will want to do is separate the thighs from the legs, A little tip is to bend the legs and thighs to see where the joint is and then cut there.

20141014_162114

Add Salt Pepper and garlic powder then brown the chicken on all side and put aside until later.

20141014_164613

Slice the mushrooms and chop the garlic and onions.

20141014_163300

Place the butter in saute pan and melt. Saute the mushrooms and onions for about 3 minutes or until done.

20141014_165137

Add the flour and chicken cube, water, heavy cream, and tarragon allow to thicken slightly.

20141014_165800

Pour the sauce over the Chicken

20141014_165921

Cook for 25 minutes.

20141014_173312

I like to serve this with rice and vegetables, but this is just as good with potatoes. I really love tarragon with chicken, I believe that it is the herb that accents chicken the best. This recipe lends itself well to any other herbs you may enjoy so be creative and ENJOY.

20141014_173836

Let me know what you Enjoyed.

